I Know What Victory Tastes Like…

And it tastes like a French Chocolate Macaron. Or twenty, perhaps.

20120709-161539.jpg

Finally, after several months of careful research, planning and even a macaron-making class which only resulted in more failed attempts and frustration, I am immensely proud to announce that I have made my first successful batch of macarons. And with the way I’m acting about it, you’d think I’d won an Oscar or something. I plastered pics all over Facebook and Twitter, probably driving everyone I know nuts. I even felt as though I should make a speech to honour such a momentous occasion. And if I were to do that, it would go a little something like this.

Wow, this is so unexpected…I hardly know what to say. First off, I’d like to thank celebrated pastry chef David Leibovitz for providing a perfect, easy to follow recipe after moving to Paris and conducting several experiments of his own then passing the final tested formula on so that the rest of us may benefit from his wisdom. Thanks also to my friend Lisa at Le Dolci for giving me my first crack of proper macaron method through classes taught at her Toronto studio, taught by the fabulous Mardi. And finally, I’d like to thank my family for their tolerance and patience with my near-constant profanity and poor humour as I wasted egg after egg in my quest for that perfect little shell.

20120709-203555.jpg

But it wasn’t without some challenges. The first batch I put straight into the oven as the recipe had suggested, but a quarter of them were cracked and looked more popover than macaron. That could have been due to some temperature fluctuation or a hot spot in the oven itself. The second batch however, after having waited for about a half hour before baking, came out with the signature feet and smooth-domed shell that are the hallmarks of the Parisian confection. Just like the ones that have hitherto eluded me, and that food blog writers everywhere seemed to make look so easy. It’s not easy. Not by a long shot.

But if anything can be gleaned from this experience, it’s that hard work and perseverance really do pay off. It may not have escaped your attention that I have not put up anymore Sunday night goals. Is it because I’m abandoning the practice so soon? No, not at all. Instead of just writing about it – since we know how well that worked for me – I decided to take a more active approach. Just do it, then write about it afterward. This macaron post as well as the previous one about coconut cream pie are both prime examples of goals I had very high on my list.

So what’s next on my to-do list? I guess you’ll just have to stay tuned to find out.

20120709-203811.jpg

2 thoughts on “I Know What Victory Tastes Like…

    • I’ve been actively trying for about seven months, but planning for about a year – researching recipes and methods. The David Leibovitz one is the best Ive seen both in how it breaks the process down and his reasons why. You should try it for sure! Then send me a pic 🙂

Leave a Reply

